In some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison. Do you agree or disagree?

There are some nations where criminals who don't commit a serious offence are not imprisoned, nevertheless insisted to take up community services. Often, it is argued that imprisonment is the sole remedial action. In my opinion, public involvement and social pressure are better ways to improve the offender than a punishment. Arguably, confinement is considered to be the best remedy for changing the behaviour of the criminal, yet it may worsen the situation as humans are social beings, instead of improving the habit of committing a crime, they may go into depression due to loneliness and restricted environment. On the contrary, the offenders are not punished then they are encouraged for a serious offence, for instance; a small boy used to pick pencils from the desk of his classmates but his mother never scolded him, thinking him to be too young to understand, rather supported if someone tried to report her about his behaviour. When the boy grew up, he robbed a bank for which he was pronounced lifetime imprisonment. This is obvious that getting engaged in any sort of illegal activities shall be treated as a punishable offence, nonetheless for a non-serious crime performing social duty could prove to be a better way to rectify the offender. Because someone has done something wrong at a particular point in time doesn't mean that the person is a criminal, in such cases, custody can go wrong but devoting towards community assistance will evidently be helpful. Offenders undertaking social work can prove to be a boon to the society in future, elaborately, a person who never knew about the pleasure of helping society comes in for such work as a punishment and continues doing so even after his tenure of sentence recommended to him/ her. To conclude, whether offenders shall be imprisoned or not is a matter of debate, while there are several countries where criminals (non-serious) are punished to serve society, instead. I believe social duty can transform a person more than isolation, therefore a non-serious offender shall be assigned several public services.