Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that international events such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup play a vital role in maintaining world peace and showing nationalism in a proper form. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement but some fights among the supporters have been reported in past venues. On the one hand, it is true that events such as the World Football Cup or the Commonwealth Games can be used as a tool to maintain peace globally and to show patriotism by secure means. It can be seen that during international tournaments, athletes from various nations are competing against each other in a sportive manner. Although their countries of origin might be at war or in conflict, they shake hands and greet each other. And during these moments, the sports people can show their nationalism by giving their best effort in the games, since they are the representative of their own countries. On the other hand, although the tournaments positively affect world peace, sometimes the contestants and the audience get carried away with their emotions. In certain cases, several players fought against each other because they could not manage their temperament, and the situation triggered the supporters to fight against each other as well. As a result, it caused some tensions between countries as well. Therefore, many experts have suggested that competitors should be given a proper explanation about controlling their emotions during the games because it could give negative effects on the supporters and the relationship among nations. In conclusion, it is undeniable that international sports & games such as the European Football Cup or SEA Games are an effective tool in easing the tensions among nations and showing patriotism with the right approach. I personally agree with the statement, but I think it is also important for athletes to be trained about controlling their emotions.