Nowadays men’s sports are given far more attention by society compared to women’s sports. What are the reasons for that? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, female sporting activities have garnered lesser attention than that of their male counterparts. The main reason is that male sport is generally promoted more than females because they earn more money and they have been around for a longer period. However, in my opinion, this is a negative development because it does not reflect gender equality. To start with, male sports generally get more attention because men sporting activities earn more money than the opposite gender. As a result, they are advertised much more than female sports. Moreover, men's sport has the advantage of a significant head start over that of women, therefore men's sport has been in the public eye for a longer period. For instance, male soccer has been played publicly for more than 50 years before females started participating; in fact, the first female world cup was held not long ago in 1996. Subsequently, not many people were surprised when male football outearned women's soccer by 5. 9 billion. Furthermore, in my view, this is an occurrence to be proud of because it shows our society still has the problem of gender discrimination. This is due to the long history of systemic restrictions (such as females not being allowed to participate in various activities, and no freedom of movement and association) placed on women. Consequently, this action has an adverse effect on female competitiveness, making them feel as if they are not up to men. For example, 80% of female athletes that stop participating in sports points to the feeling of being inferior as the reason they dropped out. In conclusion, the major reason for male dominance in sports is the fact that it started earlier than female sports, as well as the higher level of promotion due to the fact that men bring significantly more revenue than the opposite sex. In my opinion, this is a negative development, because it shows we still have serious problems of gender discrimination.