‘For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

It has been posited that importance should be given to the ability of children to play musical instruments as much as that given to their literacy skills. Although I do agree with this to an extent and I also understand the significant role music plays in the wholesome growth of kids, I do not subcribe to the fact that the same degree of importance credited to learning to read and write should be ascribed to learning music instruments. To start with, I believe the abilty to create melodious sounds from instruments is as essential as the ability to put words in writing and to read out written words. This is because, the skill has been proven to improve cognitive skills of young children especially as it assits assist sits in the building of their dexterity. It has also been shown that when a child plays tunes from a musical instrument, it greatly calms the nerves of that child. For example, a study carried out by the John Children's Centre in 2018 showed that kids who played one musical instrument or the other performed higher in their academics than their colleagues who only sing. It is quite important that the young acquire the musical skill to create melody from musical instruments. However, it is not sufficient to know this but one must also aver his mind to the crucial need for children to learn this skill. In order to benefit from the advantages of knowing how to play a music instrument, it is also important that kids are taught how to play them; in fact, some of the beneficts such as increased consentration and anxiety control are impacted during the learning process. For instance, the pose of a violin player, though uncomfortable atb first, is vital to the quality of music he produces and this in turn can teach a learner that rewards comes after perseverance. Thus, learning musical instrument should be held in high regards when it comes to a child's education. In conclusion, learning musical instruments should be accorded an higher stance if not the same as learning how to read and write in children's education and it is of importance that people learn this from their childhood.