Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. What is your opinion? Write your response not less than 250 words.

It is observed that many people tend to purchase the goods under the influence of publicity without realising their necessities, whereas some humans believe that marketing acitivity has helped them undertsand the new products as those have proved useful for improving the life. Though promotion of the products might seem to have stocked unnecessary items at home, in my opinion ads also provide a fresh idea to help increase the standard of living. Firstly, marketing assists in sales process of an itmes item during its "Product Life cycle" because it plays with the psychology. It tends to create a place for the "need" in the minds of human. This is done by attracting their attention thereby simulating an interest in their head. That dabbles the desire element and finally the person is tempted to buy; mostly without much thinking about their useability aspetcs. For example, inspite of knowing the disadvantages, cold drink's market has surpassed the natural fruits or homemade drinks like buttermilk long ago in terms of its sale volume. Secondly, the promotional publicity gives birth to peer pressure becuase in today's digital world the social norms are quite active especially when it comes to young generations. Hence, purchasing is easily copied due to competition and many a times it is just to stay alive in a cohort. For instance, the current advertisement of Fogg Deo is based on the fact that "Peer acceptance is conditional when fulfilled certain criteria and that is applying Fogg deo". Finally, the publicity allows to intorduce a new concept in life in terms of not only the tangible goods but also an intangible ones as it helps expand our horizons. As we all know, announcements do help the ideas to reach consumers in faster and an appropriate way, the introduction of a new line becomes easier at mass. To illustarte, Washing machines, when invented, were sold using promotioanl activity activites that has changed the way one observes the routine of washing the clothes. Apart from this, the social stigmas are handelled carefully by educating the people at large. That helps in giving the nascent direction to the minds. To illustrate, the Indian government did the campaign for controlling the abortions of female foetus using the advertisements. In conclusion, despite many a times we do end up acquiring worthless things due to explosion of promotional ideas, in my opinion, some times the ideas indeed give a new directions to heighten the life.