Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Nowadays everyone has a smartphone and many people use social media. A recent survey suggested that 90% of the young adults has some kind of social media. This number is very high, social media has his benefits but can also have an negative impact. First of all, social media is good middle to communicate with each other and to show your friends what you are up to. Another positive aspect is that it is a good distraction from work or school. It is possible to watch some small videos, for example on Tik Tok. In my point of view, it is also good for being updated about the news in the world. Especially for the young adults, because they do not watch tv anymore. However, many young adults follow a lot of so called "influencers". These are people with a lot of followers and have a perfect life on social media. This has a huge influence on young people, because they think it is normal to have a perfect body and to have four cars with a big house. This plays a huge role in why so many young people have a depression. Another downside is that it is really addictive, this is due to the advanced algorithm that all social meida platforms are using. A recent interview that was done among young people showed that at least 50% spend more than 4 hours a day on social media. In my point of view this number is shocking. To conclude, social media will never go away and it is really fun. However, for young people it can be dangerous if you watch it to often. That is why I think it should be good to have lessons about social media on school.