Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of city and towns, while others say housing facilities should be built instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Forests have plethora of benefits including habitat for wild animals, fruits for many dependent creatures, preventing soil erosion and so on. Trees also maintain equilibrium in the environment, as it helps in transpiration, which plays as a catalyst in cloud formation. I am totally in favour of planting saplings in free spaces available in cities. Firstly, afforestation should be adopted on a large scale, as it is beneficial to community and the atmosphere. There are ample reasons to restore our forests. They help convert carbon dioxide to oxygen, which is a fundamental need for humans and animals. They act as barriers against landslides because their roots have soil holding capacity. Moreover, they maintain the temperature, for instance, a study claims that a single banyan tree is equivalent to 25 air conditioners. They also help reduce noise pollution, especially Ashoka trees, which are planted mostly along roadside. Additionally, trees like pine add aesthetic values. Therefore, trees are of vital important factor for the sustainable survival of mankind. Secondly, they also have proven medicinal values which are utilised till date. For instance, the neem tree has anti-bacterial properties, the paste made from its leaves can be applied to wounds, and its twigs are used as toothbrushes. Trees are also worshipped in many south-Asian countries. Moreover, the historic 'Chipkoo movement' was initiated in one of the villages in India to protect trees from being cut down. To conclude, there are enumerable reasons to plant trees inside and outside of forests. Besides their importance for our existence, the range of other benefits and historic importance can never be overlooked. Therefore, I strongly agree with planting trees in empty places around the cities.