Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with smartphones and IPads in every house, parents and children spent their time on social media and video games. This problem has two reasons, also I think there is a huge negative impact on children of spent hours on these devices. First, parents these days too busy with their life and this make sitting and watching their kids is difficult, so they gave them smartphones instead to make quality time with them, and without any roles and monitoring what they watch. Moreover, the leak of monitoring opens the doors for bad things, paedophile people and maybe they just installed spy apps on their phones. Secondly, after the pandemic most countries replace books with e-books and online classes, which forced families to buy and provide devices for their children to keep learning and take online courses., which is a good thing to be open to a new source of learning. Furthermore, the negative impact of spending hours on youtube and TikTok, and the consequences of this bad behaviour appear on their communication skills in real life. However, young people in those two years were affected by the pandemic and their communication skills were below average. In addition, in the future kids will find a difficult to cope with family gatherings and activities that do not depend on the internet, also the handy skills will disappear. In conclusion, smartphones are part of our life now, but families should be aware of the negativity of the internet and social media, they have to put roles and monitor what their kids watch and minimise the time spend on these devices.