Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

Some people believe that newspapers will continue to be the most important source of news for the majority of people despite the fact that reading news on the Internet is becoming more popular. From my perspective, newspapers are currently the most reliable source of news, however, this trend would change in the future as technology advances and environmental awareness grow. On the one hand, newspapers have some more advantages compared to other sources of news or information. Firstly, it is more trustworthy because of the strict press censorship that each publisher must go through before publishing. Therefore, not only readers are less worried about the news reliability but also the amount of time spent on cross-checking has decreased. Moreover, a newspaper is easily accessible and inexpensive, meanwhile, not everyone has access to internet or digital devices in order to read news online. Anyone can get a thick newspaper with less than 25 thousand dong, which is equivalent to the cost of an appropriate breakfast in Vietnam, On the other hand, there are some advantages of online news which can outweigh those of newspapers. It is obvious to see that internet enables people to update news around the clock. Let’s take covid 19 epidemic as an example, recent news spreads throughout the country at such a brisk pace that local Vietnamese citizens and government were well informed of patients’ past schedules. It happens quickly enough to prevent the disease from becoming widespread. Furthermore, reading news on the Internet would lessen the need for paper printing, which ends up benefiting the environment. Nowadays, people are more aware of environmental issues. It is the reason why I believe that we are more willing to make tiny environmental improvements like cutting back on newspaper publishing. In conclusion, even while newspaper will remain popular in some regions and among some people, reading news online will eventually dominate because it is better for environment and allows for rapid information dissemination.