Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Hosting international sporting events is an ideal way to gain global attention. However, some people believe that these events are just waste of money. I partially agree with both statements and in this, essay I will firstly state the advantages and secondly the disadvantages with relevant examples. accommadation To begin with, countries become competitive to hold the global events because it helps to promote their culture, food, craftsmanship, architecture and their hospitality to the world and also it will help immensly to uplift the economy. To ellaborate things further, for such events people around the world visit the hosting country. They will then accomodate accommodated accumulate in local hotels and restuarants and this will help to promote local cuisine and the how generous the people are. Thus it will help the growth of tourism industry substantially. Moreover, after the event, the foreign investment will increase as it such event event the country countrys capability to handle such exotic event and the resources available in them. For instance, after the Olympics held in Beijing, a significant number of investments had happened and as a result the GDP increased by two per cent. On the other hand, hosting a global event is expensive. A country has to spend millions of dollars for participants security and for accommodation. To exemplify, for the 2020 Olympic, Australia had spend millions of dollars for safety, food, accommodation and other ammeneties for the athletes. Furthermore, it takes lot of time and effort to organize such event as they have to meet requirements of every country participating. Such events also cause land and water pollution since thousands of people visit the country and the wastage will increase. In conclusion, international sporting events hosting has both advantages and disadvantages. However, I believe that the pros outweigh the cons.