Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co- operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Cooperation or competition? Two groups of parents holding opposite opinions keep helping their kids in school get one of these senses. As far as I am concerned, the latter overvalues the former. The reasons are the following. Firstly, the sense of competition is the core strategy to obtain greater social resources in this modern world. Darwin's theory of evolution tells us the kernel of existence is to compete against each other. Otherwise, people would lose the opportunity to have children. In this more civilised era, resources, such as money and social status, are valued the most among human beings and can merely be obtained through competition. The more one possesses them, the higher the possibility one has to get a nice spouse and help one's family thrive. For instance, my neighbour Xiao Ming did not have the spirit of competition at his secondary school. He did not care about his grade in the final exams and thus was not accepted by any high school. An urge for survival forces him to start working and no girls like him due to his poor resources. To stop this tragedy from happening again, we shall teach our kids how to compete. Secondly, the sense of cooperation is an auxiliary strategy for survival in this cruel nature. It is a must for people to know how to cooperate, but it should be second to the value of competition. That is to say, cooperation helps people to improve their communication skills and emotional intelligence, but as long as the sense of comparison exists in this world, it shall not be the main value children should gain. For example, my friend Bob was good at history but bad at mathematics. He used to help everyone in class with his best effort in the history assignment and asked them to secretly pass the answers to him in the final exam of mathematics in return. Nevertheless, everybody sitting around Bob wanted to beat him in math, and thus betrayed him during the exam, which made him get the lowest grade in the class. In conclusion, we are human, and we need to know the tactics to survive in this modern society. Therefore, I consider the sense of competition more valuable than the sense of cooperation.