The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a very fast increase in the trend of online shopping, so much that it is now feared will lead to the obliteration of physical stores in urban areas. I do not agree with this belief. The major advantage that online shopping offers over walk-in shops is convenience. Regardless, the merits of these offline commercial centres outweigh the seeming advantage of online buying. The primary reasons are the lower prices of items, elimination of fraud and inspection of goods before purchase. Firstly, one of the major setbacks of internet buying is the dissimilarity between the product delivered from that seen on the website. Physical shopping however deals with the above challenge. That is, one gets to see for oneself what one is about to pay for, thus, eliminating surprises or disappointments. For example, I stopped patronizing online vendors for my dresses after a funny-looking dress was delivered to me for the pretty dress I had ordered. Furthermore, there are diverse options in the different stores that can be found in malls. Hence, enabling buyers to have a wide range of options to pick from. Moreso, because of the convenience internet buying gives to its customers, the cost of these goods is usually more expensive than in walk-in stores. As a result, people like myself who are financially prudent will always love to patronize the offline shops as we will be sure to save some money from doing so. For instance, a lot of people still prefer to buy their electronic gadgets from walk-in outlets, not only are the costs more reasonable, they are mostly able to inspect the items before payment is made. Moreover, the increase in fraud cases is also a deterrent to transacting on the internet. In conclusion, regardless of the seeming benefit of online transacting, such as convenience, it cannot be the reason physical shopping centres will be things of the past. Owing to the fact that a lot of more benefits range from fair prices, a wider range of prices to zero fraud can be derived from the physical outlets.