Tourists cause more harm than good to local people and the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Tourism is developing rapidly in those days. It is argued that travellers have brought more negative impacts to local dwellers and the natural environment than good ones. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion and the reasons will be indicated in this essay. First of all, the negative environmental impacts of tourism are substantial. They include the depletion of local natural resources as well as pollution and waste problems. For example, the tourism industry generally overuses water resources for hotels, swimming pools, golf courses and personal use of water by tourists. This can result in water shortages and degradation of water supplies, as well as generating a greater volume of wastewater. Moreover, an average golf course can use 1500 kilos of chemical fertilizers, pesticides and herbicides per year. Those hazardous substances are absorbed into the land, therefore, causing soil and water pollution. On the other hand, tourism ultimately provides employment and economic benefits for the community as well as helping to place a value on the cultural and natural heritage of a destination. For instance, the number of jobs created by tourism in many different areas is significant. These jobs are not only a part of the tourism sector but may also include the agricultural sector, health sector, and educational sector. Additionally, many tourists travel to experience the hosting destination’s culture, different traditions, and gastronomy. This is very profitable to local restaurants, shopping centres, and stores. In conclusion, I agree that travelling negatively affects the local environment due to the overuse of natural resources and wasting improperly. However, there are several benefits of tourism to host destinations, especially in the economic term.