World peace is maintained through the threat of nuclear weapons. Nuclear power also provides cheap and clean energy. Therefore many people say that the benefits of nuclear energy outweigh the disadavantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of nuclear technology and give your opinion.

To begin with, some people believed that nuclear power has a significant contribution to humans from medical and environmental perspectives. First, from a medical perspective, nuclear technologies provide the image inside the human body, facilitating doctors to conduct diagnoses on patients and be a treatment tool. For instance, nuclear research has allowed doctors to use radiation to kill cancer tumours without damaging healthy cells with precise value. Second, from an environmental perspective, nuclear technologies are the alternative to tackle the climate change issue. Nuclear power plants generate electricity without combusting fossil fuels, it significantly reduces the greenhouse gases level such as carbon dioxide emitted into the atmosphere. For instance, scientists predicted that nuclear technologies will be replaced the traditional methods such as burning fossil fuels because it is more environmentally friendly and efficient. On the other hand, those who believed that nuclear energy might argue that it can destroy the whole world. This is because it releases radioactive materials into the environment and is harmful to human beings if treated improperly. For instance, in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, cities in Japan, the nuclear booms dropped and there are no creatures that can survive in that area and are unable to grow until the radioactive materials reduce to acceptable levels. In conclusion, despite the nuclear technology is harmful to human beings, if it monitors properly and operates in safe conditions, it brings unaccountable benefits to humans, especially from medical and environmental perspectives. Personally, I believed that the benefits of nuclear power outweigh the disadvantages.