Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The prevalence of youngsters using social networks for communication instead of communicating directly is increasing. There are several reasons for this, but also a number of measures we can take to alleviate this phenomenon. First, one of the possible major factors in the development of technology, which led to the advent of a wide range of applications with marvellous images, interactive features, and many functions. For example, they can play online games while talking to each other. Besides, if they want to ask friends for the needed information, all they need to do is use a messenger app, such as Facebook Messenger, and they can have the answer almost instantly. As a result, they may save time for other activities, ranging from studying to recreation. Secondly, it is easier to keep in touch with friends moving from school to a new one or even to other countries. Because when they use social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram, they can update their status themselves for their friends and reverse, or they can use video call apps to talk directly. And this way of meeting costs a limited amount of money compared to other face-to-face meetings. However, there are various steps that can be taken to lessen the problem. First, the government should use media like TV, newspapers, and radio to spread propaganda about how young people's excessive use of social networks is harming their physical and mental health. Secondly, parents can help mitigate this issue by supervising the time spent by children on their phones or computers. To summarise, we can say that technology development and convenience, as well as limited costs, are creating this situation. However, governments and parents working together can reduce the impact.