Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that rewarding people is the best way to perform better in school. However, others are more down to the idea that punishment is better than reward. I personally believe that rewarding students is a good way. On the one hand, supporters of rewards argue that it is the best way to improve learning at school. First and foremost it motivates children to study more. When pupils are rewarded they want to reward again and engage in class discussions and group projects. For example, teachers often use extrinsic rewards like certifications or prizes and it motivates students. As a result, people who study at school want these prizes and do their best. Another benefit of this it makes learning fun. As pupils really love prizes and to achieve this they compete with each other and it makes lessons fun. On the other hand, critics of punishment believe that it is useful to punish students rather than reward pupils. First of all, it scares children who do not do their homework or misbehave in lessons. For instance, when a pupil misbehaves in lessons or does not their home teacher punishes this student afterwards the student is shy around classmates. As a result, this pupil does not misbehave in class and always does homework. In this way, these people can improve his or her behaviour. In conclusion, students perform better at school when they are rewarded rather than punished.