Some people feel that music should be taught in school while others believe it is better to focus on the sciences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that the need of teaching music at schools is debatable. It is widely argued that schools should teach artistic subjects such as music, however, a lot of people suggested that focusing on STEM subjects would be more beneficial. In my opinion, I believe that subjects like music must take a place in schools ' teaching schedules. First of all, the variety of students' interests and the lack of music teachers' opportunities are key reasons to teach music. Some pupils have a passion for playing one of the musical instruments, so, the school could be a great foster environment to improve this skill. Taking Yanni for example (A Polish musician), although he is one of the most successful musicians in the world, he admitted that he is weak in sciences subjects. Furthermore, given the lack of job opportunities for art teachers, teaching artistic subjects will increase the chance for them to have a job. For instance, in Jordan, a recent study shows that more than 400 music teachers are unemployed. On the other hand, STEM subjects (Sciences, Technology, Engineering, and Math) are more useful in practical life. In other words, studying sciences helps individuals in building their careers easier because of the focus on them globally. A growing body of research suggests that up to 30% of subjects that students learn in schools, including music, are useless in real life after graduation. Another key reason is that in some religious countries, music is considered forbidden. In conclusion, while artistic subjects have less importance than sciences subjects, the positive effect of teaching them in schools outweighs it. Thus, school teaching of music is a must.