The cost of living is higher in many countries. What is the effects of higher prices to individuals and society? What is the best way for people to deal with this problem?

Living expenses differ from one country to another depending on many economic aspectes. To that extend, some countries have higher living cost than others. In this essay, I will discuss the impact of higher living cost to individuals and society and also provides the solutions to those impacts. To begin with, people who live in country with higher cost of living may not be able to fulfill their basic needs. For example, 2000 dollars of monthly income is sufficient for a family to live comfortably in India, but the same amount barely covers the cost of rent in New York. Moreover, as people spend more for basic needs, they will not be able to safe for retirement. As a result, people will have to work even post-retirement age which result to lower job opportunities for younger generations. Low job opportunities will leads to high unemployment rate and therefore higher criminality rate in society. Although high living expenses creates some issues, there are few things that can be done to solve them. Firstly, people must cutback on unneccessary needs. Budget spent for entertainment subscription, for instance, can be reallocated to basic needs such as food, and rent. Secondly, retirees should consider to move to cheaper countries. By living in countries with lower living expenses, their retirement fund can sustain their life much longer. Thirdly, government should open more job opportunities in order to lower the unemployment rate and therefore lower the criminality rate. In conclusion, high living cost has some negative effects to individuals and society. However, there are few actions that can be taken to solve those issues.