Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last few decades, technological advancement has been increasing rapidly than ever before, and it has altered the way of human life than a couple of decades ago. This cutting-edge technology improves how humans interact with their neighbourhoods in daily lives. Paragraphs bellow will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this issue. One of the most popular technologies that influences modern society is the advent of the internet, which enables other inventions. For example, the utilisation of Zoom significantly reduces the operating costs of a company because no need for employees to attend meetings or training in a hotel ballroom. Furthermore, the rapid growth of internet users allows workers to work from home instead of coming to the office, thus saving money for transportation, reducing stress due to congestion and greenhouse gas emissions from fossil fuels. Research from The Jakarta Post last year revealed that, on average, the implementation of the Work From Home policy has been proven to reduce air pollution in Jakarta by approximately 15%. However, there are serious detrimental ramifications related to the fasting growth of the internet. For example, using the internet too much reduces people’s time to carry out physical activity, such as jogging and taking exercise, and thus, thus in the long term, will have adverse effects on society’s health. Besides, overuse of social media causes society to reduce their time to socialise with their families and friends, which leads to the impairment of interpersonal skills, and in some cases, impair brain abilities to think clearly. Scientists called this phenomenon brain rot. To mitigate this risk, for instance, the Australian government in 2024 banned social media for teenagers under 16 years old. In conclusion, current technological developments have changed the lives of societies to facilitate our tasks, which leads to better life qualities. However, it also carries risks that threaten human health and well-being. However, with wise and precautionary utilisation, I believe that technology will make this world a better place for humankind.