The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the past twenty years, humanity has witnessed a massive expansion of the Internet. We roughly can say that in North America every household has at least one device that connects to the Web. Although this expansion has brought numerous benefits to our society, it also has some drawbacks. I personally think that this increase in access to information is one of the biggest gains that the Internet has brought to our society. Not only does it reach different areas of our daily life, but also directly impacts important scientific activities. The latter is particularly relevant for academic purposes, as students and professors can access publications and experiments from different groups across the globe in minutes. For instance, this was extremely beneficial during the COVID-19 pandemic, when the medical community across the world worked together to produce high-quality evidence to support public health measures. If the internet were not available, it would be impossible to have all these researchers working in different time zones. However, the web is not a bed of roses. The spread of fake news is one issue that our community needs to deal with, as it causes a lot of misinformation. Those news cause enormous harm to the individual and at the societal levels. For example, many adolescents use social media to bully their peers, and they do it mainly because they can hide behind fake accounts. Regarding the damage at the societal level, we also observed during the latest pandemic that many websites were created against vaccination. In my family, for instance, some relatives trusted those websites and decided not to get vaccinated, and, unfortunately, some died of covid-19. In a nutshell, despite the internet having some disadvantages and that our community will have to find solutions to fix it, I think that in the final balance access to information is crucial to our lives, and the internet plays an important role in bringing to us.