Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. Discuss both views.

Knowledge is vast, and not all of it can be acquired in one lifetime. Students, many a times, are struck by the dilemma of which subjects should they opt for better career prospects. While some incline towards subjects with practical applications, others feel those of theoretical basis are more important. In this essay, I will examine both views, though I personally feel that both the categories have their own importance, and no one kind is better than the other. There are some who choose subjects whose knowledge can be applied in the real world or in a practical scenario. This is primarily because they feel once the knowledge is attained from a book is applied in the real-time, it leads to a better understanding and tends to remain in their minds forever. Subjects, for instance, like Mathematics or Science help in solving our daily issues or understanding our surroundings in a better way. There are, however, a few who believe otherwise. To them, theoretical subjects are better because it is important to know about the world in general; how people were in the past, what wars were fought, what were the outcomes, etc. We must know what our history says or how our civilizations were, for example. They put emphasis on knowing rather than applying. To conclude, subjects of practical applications as well as those of theoretical basis are equally important, and, in my opinion, it is a matter of choice not superiority. Both kind of subjects are helpful in overall comprehension of the world around us and it should be left on a person’s choice to which one to prefer.