As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment.

There has been a controversy about whether cars can adversely affect the environment where we live. I would say vehicles are detrimental to nature, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Vehicles increase carbon emissions. According to some statistical figures, transportation contributes 24% of global greenhouse gas. In the US, 29% of greenhouse gas is from vehicles. Except for carbon emissions, other by-products of a car are disadvantageous to the environment too. For instance, cars produce carbon monoxide, which is one of the main causes of lung cancer. Besides, all the by-products can raise the temperature and worsen global warming to a large extent. Second, the assembly process of vehicles requires a large number of resources. Due to the growth of the human population, the demand for cars has ascended. Hence, factories produce more cars; in other words, many resources, such as metal, are used. In this case, such a situation can lead to a global metal resources shortage. It's worth mentioning that the disposal process of cars is detrimental too. For instance, each car has a car battery; it contains some liquid which can adversely affect nature. If vehicles are not disassembled carefully, the items of a car can cause pollution. On the other hand, cars have many advantages. For example, a car brings convenience to our life, it shortens the time we spend on the road. And a car can give us a private space in public areas. In conclusion, I would say the disadvantages of a car outstrip its advantages.