A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trus, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagre with this opinion?

In contemporary society, the yardstick to measure a person's value is very much the wealth owned by him or her, or how respected the person's job is in society. We can generalize that these things are more on the materialistic side, rather than on the principle side. As far as I am concerned, this is overwhelmingly true and inevitable and some reasons discussed below may have a role in the current situation. First and foremost, we need to understand that there are a lot of possibilities in society compared with the past. In ancient times, when everybody was talking about honour, most people were just peasants, or servants of the kings and lords. These people were living from hand to mouth, they did not have any social mobility and they were basically not different from their neighbours. Meanwhile, people nowadays have numerous ways to succeed, they are hence putting more effort to chase their dreams. Normally, when there are differences, there are comparisons. It is absolutely reasonable for people to keep an eye on what people in the neck of their woods have achieved, especially with the help of social media. For example, I do not think it is wrong for one's wife to glare at the bigger house of her neighbour, it is just human nature. Instead of complaining about the public getting materialistic, we should put the focus on how low the bar regarding good principles like kindness has been lowered. In my opinion, the situation is not that bad. For example, we can still see a lot of people habitually donating to charity to help the poor and needy. In conclusion, the fact that people are getting materialistic is simply a by-product of society being more resourceful and filled with possibilities. It is a happy problem and we just cannot complain about it.