Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of city and towns, while others say housing facilities should be built instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that planting trees is an important activity for the protection of the environment. Numerous humans think trees should be planted in the vacant spaces of cities and towns, while others think housing amenities should be built alternatively. In my experience, I prefer planting greenery to building housing amenities because of some pros and cons. First, many cities in my country lack accommodation for residents, so building living facilities is an appropriate choice. Ho Chi Minh city, which is the largest city in Viet Nam, had 13 million residents in 2021. According to research published in the Vnexpress journal in 2021, not only half of its people lacked living places, but also many of Its districts lacked educational, medical, and other basic living facilities. In recent years, the government have invested in many projects which focused on providing private accommodation for immediate-income workers, low-income workers, and government staff. And many standard living facilities have been built to serve human living. On other hand, increasing the greenery spaces is the main project which aims to protect our planet. Although we had many environmental laws, the deforestation process has increased obviously. While the punishment is light, the benefits from the forest are so high. In my province, which is located in a mountainous area, despite many planting trees activities, It had reduced 50% of forest from 2000 to 2021. In conclusion, while building housing facilities has some advantages, planting trees is aimed at a huge purpose of protecting our planet. I think that we should use almost vacant spaces for planting trees.