In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

There has been an ongoing debate as to whether children should receive formal education at the age of four or should start school until they are seven. However, I feel like the question is not which timing is the best, but which is the best option for the family’s current situation. This essay will give an insight into both ideas and elaborate on my personal opinion. It is often claimed that the earlier a child receives formal education the better one could be well cultivated. Research has shown that toddlers learn three times faster than teenagers. Therefore, sending children to school at the age of four can not only allow them to adapt to student life earlier but also acquaint them with essential studies. Kindergartens and pre-schools, therefore, have been springing up in the past few years in order to ease apprehensive parents who are afraid of their child losing at the starting line. On the other hand, some people have decided to let their children stay out of school until the age of seven. It is claimed that such measures can allow kids to spend more time with their family which helps to shape an autonomous personality. According to American psychiatrist Erik. Erikson’s Psycho-Developmental Theory, the age before seven was categorized as the ‘pre- school age ’, in which kids were expected to try out new things and learn from the entire family. Until kids completely understood the basics of life, then, is the best time for parents to send them to school. Therefore, adults could spend more time with their children and kids do not need to be strained by school life. From my perspective, four could be a better choice than seven in my country. In Taiwan, nearly 90 per cent of parents decided to have offspring begin formal education by the age of four. It is widely considered by Asians that kids need to initiate formal education as early as possible. Further, Taiwan is relatively lacking parental leaves, compared to western countries, such as the U.S. and Canada and Australia. Eventually, in view of customary and time organizing, I thoroughly believe that beginning schooling at four is an ideal choice for Taiwanese. By way of conclusion, though I am on the side of early learning, it does not mean that such a choice is superior to others. Only the answer which can provide kids with the best quality of teaching and fits parents’ considerations is the best answer.