Government should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

In many countries, the government provides financial and health care support for elders while some people argue that they should take care of themself and not waste tax. Supporting them after their retirement is helping not only helps the elders but also eases the burden from their relatives, especially their kids and helps in public order. Therefore, I strongly disagree discontinue supporting both health care and finance for the elders. First of all, health care is crucial when you get older. After retirement, they are likely to visit doctors more frequently according to research. However, they need help from their relatives to get them there because when they grow older their bodies degrade and make it hard for them to travel by themself. For example, their eyes got blurred and they cannot drive anymore and they cannot take public transport because they cannot effort to stand for long or walk for a long distance. Hence, their relatives need to take a leave from work to bring them to the doctor and that is a load government can ease by supporting essential health care such as remotely annual health checks for elders. Therefore, providing health support can ease some burden on salarymen. Secondly, financial relief is also needed for the elders. After they leave their working period, their revenue decreases due to salary disappearance. Although some people may still have their savings or earnings from interest and dividends, some people have nothing and are desperate for help. If the government can provide enough money for the basic need, the elders would live through the harsh days and cause fewer problems to society. For instance, if the elders got enough to eat and got a place to stay, they would not sleep and not beg for coins on the street. Hence, providing financial support can avoid public disorder. In conclusion, I greatly disagree to cut both financial and health support which could result in public order problems and put more stress on the working force.