Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

I partially agree with the opinion that technology has made man more social. My reasoning for this is three-fold; one being the ability to contact anyone across the globe using social media, secondly the ease at which this is done due to the wide availability of communication devices such as phones, laptops, iPads and so on. Lastly, the decrease in cost over the past two decades has made this luxury available to the middle and lower classes in developed countries and further even to the poor in some developing countries. The combination of the 3 factors above means that communication with family and friends who live away can be easy and cheap, as appose to the expensive telephone bills of the past, especially international calls. Furthermore, apps such as Facebook and WhatsApp allow the spread of news to a large number of people with ease and planning of functions, events and conferences can be done without the hassle of old. Moreover, people with peculiar hobbies and interests that may not be able to make friends as easily in the past have the ability to find friends with similar interests using the above-mentioned apps. This point can also be made for online dating, helping people who haven't found their significant other the old-fashioned way, to connect with a wide range of candidates. On the flip side, one can make an argument for the opposite. This is due to the fact that social media, if used incorrectly, can cause people to become isolated and separated and not feel the need to socialise in person. A person can easily find themselves lost in the vast ocean of the internet and neglect society as we know it. This can be said for today's generation, who are more interested in TikTok than playing outside, a shame in my opinion. In conclusion, I think social media is one of man's greatest achievements and has brought the world together in one place. It has made communication and socialising extremely easy, made it possible to find people that share common interests to be friends with or even to share a life with. However, as is the case with everything, misuse of social media can actually make people more antisocial and isolated.