Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with knowledge of the dangers. Smokers should therefore expect to pay more for medical treatment that non-smokers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, the number of smokers is increasing rapidly as newer methods of smoking was introduced, namely electronic cigarettes. As the decision to become one is made voluntarily despite all the possible dangers, I believe smokers should be responsible to spend more money for treatments compared to those who are non- smokers. In recent times, it is evidence that smoking has become more popular. One of the reason is because companies offer alternatives to the way people smoke by introducing new types of non-conventional cigarettes. In addition to this, the methods used by the company to advertise their tobacco products are advancing, and in turn attracting more young individuals to start smoking at early age. As a result, smoking has become the number one issue in which many countries are starting to face. As the number of cigarettes consumed is rapidly growing, the negative impacts of this have become more apparent. Many nations have witnessed a quick increase in smoking-related diseases such as cancer, stroke, and pneumonia. Although some governments have tried to limit the number, for example by imposing higher cigarette excise, the problem is still so far from being controlled. This is mainly caused by the decision to keep consuming cigarettes that are made freely by smokers despite all the consequences to the non- smokers. As a result, more people are getting sick, including non- smokers, as the smoke produced from smoking also has horrible effects on those who don’t smoke. To conclude, as more individuals are persuaded to smoke at an early age by means of advertisement, its drawbacks from it have become inevitable. To overcome this problem, I believe they should be responsible and it would be fair for smokers to pay higher medical expenses.