Some people believe that companies should manufacturing products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be place on producing goods that are cheap. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The argument of cost vs quality has been going on for decades. Ever since mass production has been a thing different companies have focused on one or the other. While arguments can be made for both sides, in my opinion, we should allow the free market to decide as some industries require cheap products, while others have a strong need for quality. Of course, the best companies are those who focus on quality while delivering competitive prices. The importance of quality cannot be understated. A quality product can last much longer and thus won't need replacing as often. This provides a reward for the consumer and also the environment as it decreases waste and uses less scarce resources. A very good example of this is cars, a quality car such as a BMW is much more likely to survive 15 years or more compared to cheap brands, that don't focus on quality. On the other hand producing goods that are cheap means a lower financial burden on consumers, a huge benefit for low-income households. This becomes infinitely more important during financial turmoil because these households are the ones who are hurt most and thus cannot afford to overspend. Examples of this are everyday items such as clothing, toiletries etc. Companies can cut costs without decreasing quality, examples of this include automation of production lines, economies of scale and better logistics. In conclusion, while both arguments have valid points, companies should focus on both quality and cost reduction to create an excellent product for consumers.