The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays with progress in a rapidly changing world having access to information is essential. Having this ability and availableness of databases due to modern technologies like smartphones and the internet, mostly is our blessing and privilege, but there are also disadvantages. On the one hand, we have almost free, immediate access to the biggest part of knowledge or information from any hot spot. There are no doubts it gives people advanced not only for communication but also a possibility to solve their problems. A popular belief is that you can learn any skill on such platforms as YouTube. This fact is evidenced by dozens of videos in the genre " How to...". Furthermore, the internet is also an unlimited library. It is clear that when you need some additional information or to recheck your report,essay or dissertation the easiest way is to search it on the global web. However, some databases may be chargeable. On the other hand, this possibility of "free knowledge " also could cause problems and troubles. Firstly, the concept of free access to databases at any time can devalue the very significance of the information. In other words, some people prefer not to learn and develop their cognitive abilities or knowledge, because somebody has already done this before. Secondly, the gaining of this doesn't mean that you could use this properly. For example, without special training, only reading some brochures, it is very unlikely that you will be able to cure diseases. In addition, free information could be an origin of disinformation. To conclude, I want to say that there are much more pros rather than cons of instantly available data and they are significantly valuable. The rules that you need to use while you work with it are fact-checking and understanding the differences between having information and having knowledge.