In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The question of whether healthcare should be paid or free of cost has always been controversial. Many believe that payments and costs associated with care plans can disadvantage the population below poverty line, whereas others argue that making health services free can negatively impact the system. In my opinion, both the arguments have their own pros and cons, but the latter is a better approach provided some regulations on price management are formed. Take Canadian healthcare for example, the government issues healthcare cards which offer healthcare to all of its residents pro bono. Be it something as simple as a blood test to a complex neurosurgery, as long as it is medically relevant, it is all covered by the government. Needless to say it protects financially burdened patients and their families from costly hospital bills, it also bring demerits such as flooding of emergency wards with patients having certain unserious conditions (i.e. common cold and similar infections), this ultimately results in increased waiting periods as well as workload on healthcare workers and hence bringing possible disadvantage to patients who actually have the need to be seen. On the Contrary, healthcare system similar to that in the U.S.A. is known for its costly tests and procedures. This type of system does seem to keep sick people away from seeking medical attention but it has been proven to have positive effects in terms of waiting times and quick access to care. However, I think that the demerits of paid healthcare systems can be lifted by the presence of privatised health insurance companies to a great extent. It is of extreme importance that the government regulates the prices to save the customers from overly expensive and ineffective insurance plans. In a nutshell, the final goal is that care is received by those who need it and it can be done by synchronized and honest efforts by paid healthcare services and private insurance companies rather than making healthcare completely free.