Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to the negative impact of excess sugar on public health, it is advised that these unhealthy products should charge more to discourage people from purchasing them. Even though some difficulties are predictable, I consider it a worthy approach. From my perspective, the government should collect extra taxes on products with an unnecessary amount of sugar. Therefore, companies will have to adjust the price, and the taxes can be used to help with health problems caused by these products. The vast majority that consume these products are price-sensitive. It is proven that obesity and its related disease mainly affect poverty-stricken areas in America because rich people have more access to organic and fresh vegetables. Therefore, a price rise in these cheap but unhealthy products will force customers to turn to their healthier competitors. Secondly, government administrators can utilize the over-priced part as compensation for healthy food and funding for scientific research. Since one of the prominent reasons for people refusing a more balanced diet is the cost, more people will choose to buy fresh fruit and meat if they are more affordable. In addition, the taxation on sugary products can also be devoted to related research topics such as the treatment of diabetes. Of course, this method will encounter some objection, mainly from the businesses that sell these products, as their profit will be greatly reduced. However, we cannot stand by and watch the incidence of diabetes rises, which is not only a tremendous expenditure on medical insurance but also reduces the overall life expectancy of the population. In summary, I am in favour of raising the prices of sugary food as it will help our society and individuals in the long term.