Some people say that the increasing business and cultural contact between countries is a positive development, while others think that many countries will lose their national identities as a result. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that increasing contact on a global scale could bring about positive effects on one ’s nation's development, whereas others believe that this trend could put national identity in jeopardy. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and the demerits of this viewpoint before concluding that I am in favour of the former notion. On the one hand, the exchange among countries could be fraught with pitfalls to some extent. First and foremost, some local companies cooperate with numerous foreign firms, which could create competition to achieve a better opportunity for their domestic businesses. This trend is on the rise nowadays and, therefore, could have negative effects such as downsizing or even going bankrupt due to the company having fewer trade agreements internationally. Secondly, foreign influence may have an adverse bearing on the traditional customs and indigenous practices of local countries. Taking a prime example, European tourists entering Vietnam may behave rudely and wear inappropriate clothes when walking on the street. Consequently, this acts as a precursor to the bad influence on the young to emulate the behaviours and fashions. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that this is indeed a positive development. One key rationale is that robust relations among countries could yield benefits to the local residents as well as a thriving economy. To simplify, this phenomenon could give a chance to the unemployed to have a well-paid job. As a result, leading to an improvement in the living quality of the whole community and a sustainable economy. Moreover, citizens from one nation can learn more about the history and way of life of many others more easily, which enables people to accept racial cultural differences and erase hostility due to past conflicts. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that diplomatic ties between nations have some undesirable consequences for culture and business, I am convinced that the upside of this ongoing trend is more significant than its downside.