Some people say that health care and education should be the responsibility of the government but others think that it is the responsibility of the individuals themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether the government should take the responsibility for health care ad education. I think individuals and the government should share the responsibility. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, if it's the government's mismanagement that causes some health and educational problems, then the government should take responsibility. For instance, the factories' locations are designed too close to the residential areas, and the sewage from the factories pollutions the safe drinking water. As a result, hundreds and thousands of people suffer from severe illnesses, such as diarrhoea. At this point, it's the government's mistake that brings about such a tragedy. Regarding education, the government should be responsible for some situations; for example, on account of the poor infrastructure in rural areas, teachers are not willing to teach in these places. As a consequence, there are no good schools in rural areas, and children here can't receive enough education. Second, the government should be responsible for some pollution. Take China as an example. During the Chinese spring festival, people tended to play a lot of fireworks as a tradition for the past hundreds of years. Nevertheless, fireworks could worsen air pollution to a large extent. At this point, the government didn't stop, and countless people suffered from illnesses, such as coughing and headaches. After the government realized the negative impact of fireworks, it was banned in China. However, this event can still be attributed to the government's incompetence. On the other hand, there are numerous cases that individuals should take responsibility for themselves. For instance, the number of smokers is increasing rapidly. Besides, it has been reported that tobacco is one of the main causes of lung cancer. Therefore, if people are diagnosed with lung cancer, it's their own fault, and the government shouldn't scapegoat for such a bad result. In conclusion, individuals and the government need to work together to redress those issues.