Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause man environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plastic shopping bags have negatively impacted the environment, such as water pollution and land contamination. Therefore, people insist that it is significant to prohibit the usage of plastic bags. From my perspective, I tend to agree with the ideas because our living condition is getting worse due to the unfriendly materials. Admittedly, plastic shopping bags are a favorable thing for customers and merchants. Because of their unique properties, plastics are light and handy compared to paper bag customers. For some merchants, applying plastic bags can reduce costs and boost benefits. Although it has necessary in some ways, banning plastic shopping bags is more important in many aspects. Firstly, the massive use of plastic bags pollutes the marine environment and could be lethal to marine lives. Some factories throw the scrap materials into the sea if substantial costs are needed to handle those industrial waste. The truth turned out that marine life can accidentally eat brightly colored garbage bags and die by asphyxiation. Even if the animals survive the pollution, the chemicals and contaminants contained in plastics can accumulate in their bodies for decades, altering the biological processes of growth and reducing reproductive capacity. Secondly, backing from sea to land, plastics cause contamination to the agricultural areas. Plastic bags are made of nitrocellulose, so it is difficult to degrade them. Plastic bags can take hundreds of years or more to decay despite burying them in the ground. Consequently, the permeability of the land will be affected. More seriously, crops cannot grow in infertile land. If farmers can cultivate no land, then how can people get food. In the long-term, future generations may not have enough cereals and suffer from malnutrition. Therefore, the public must stop using plastic shopping bags. In conclusion, protecting the environment is to protect humans. Although people cannot completely do without plastic shopping bags now, they should at least try to use less and less of those harmful materials. Next time people go shopping, bringing non-disposable bags will be big progress.