Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that it is a prostive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both the sides of the argument and give your own opinion.

Technology has been increasingly used in education. While I agree with this notion because the computer system saves time with multi-purpose utility, others argue that it is a negative invention in the schooling system due to the high chances of its misuse and the risk of fading writing skills. This essay will demonstrate both views. The trend of using computerized devices, on one hand, in education settings has several benefits for educators and learners. Firstly, there is no need to buy extra stationery items which occupy extra space because a technological device has everything. For example, the latest devices are equipped with multi-purpose software where one can search, read, write, listen and even speak to someone; thereby saving time. Secondly, high-tech devices provide extra support to teachers such as digital attendance, informing students ahead of what to study and sharing lessons for their practice. Thirdly, learners can access links for class and check their daily academic performance through online tests or homework assignments. Lastly, it also connects parents to their children and teachers by giving online school app access. On the other hand, there are some negatives to using computers in schools. One of them is the misuse of technological advances in the classroom context. To illustrate, sometimes pupils get distracted from learning due to the availability of other features such as social media sites and online games, it happens without proper guidance and supervision of the class instructor. Another reason for limiting automation in the classroom is that students’ writing skills are disappearing, for instance, due to the facility of autocorrect students cannot spell by themselves without the help of technological applications. Thus, the whole teaching-learning process should not completely depend on technology, it can be done by using the partial approach of technology with the tutor's instructions and actual writing assignments on papers. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of adopting technological advances in the classroom setting outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore, teachers must use such teaching aid to make connections between learning with real-life context. After analysing the issue, it is suggested that students need to be supervised the whole time while using computers to avoid misuse.