As well as making money, businesses have social reponsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that businesses are no longer merely for-profit organisations; meanwhile, it has been anticipated to shoulder some social responsibilities as well. I firmly concur with such an opinion for the following reasons. First, it is inevitable to cut off the connection between companies and society. Private interests are based on the co-shared resources of the society. Manufacturers, for instance, have been the major producer of biohazard gases in various countries. Moreover, scientists and doctors have found out that those toxic gases have been holding a strict connection with the occurrence of global warming. Therefore, China, the primary base of manufacturing, has set up several regulations in order to enforce local industries and factories to understand their environmental duty, which could also be considered a social responsibility, of limiting the number of gas emissions. Another salient example is the cigarette industry. In the past century, businesspeople have shaped smoking as a definition of modern and fashionable. However, these behaviour have served as negative material for those who lack judgment, such as youth or teenagers. According to the latest American research, one who started to smoke one year earlier than another would gain a higher possibility of getting lung cancer by 23%. Many countries, therefore, has requested companies print warning titles on the packaging of cigarette as a social responsibility in order to raise public awareness of this life-threatening material. In conclusion, companies should never take their successes or wealth for granted. From my perspective, commercial interest should be based on humility and integrity. Companies, which has made fortune from society, should be given some duties to tackle as a return to society.