Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Over recent decades, some people question the ethics of experimenting with animals. While some believe that it is essential for making progress as a society, I would agree with those who consider it a cruel practise that should be forbidden. This essay will also explore some alternatives to animal experimentation. It would be wrong to deny that unethical experiments of any kind have contributed to scientific breakthroughs. However, nowadays, individuals are much more environmentally conscious and know that experimenting with other beings is simply not fair. The human being is one species among many and it is not superior to others. Fortunately, there are many organisations and activists that support this viewpoint and actively work to defend animals' rights. Moreover, there are multiple options with regard to experimentation. Firstly, scientists could ask for volunteers to participate in a specific experiment. This could benefit those who are taking part by receiving an income and by improving their health or situation if the experiment is successful. Since the participation in the experiment becomes voluntary, we are not forcing any living being and, therefore, we are removing that unethical aspect. Secondly, technological development allows researchers to experiment with plants or vegetables obtaining valid results. This seems to be a promising approach that would remove the need to experiment on mammals. In conclusion, although it is necessary to admit that some scientific landmarks could not have been possible without animal experimentation, I consider that such cruel activities are not necessary anymore. The scientific community has evolved and it has many more alternatives and there are people committed to stopping cruelty on animals. I wish the scientific community would prioritise ethical behaviours.