Establishing good relationship in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the salad days of the millennium, it has become quite difficult for people to maintain balanced working and social lives. Workstations play a vital role in the life of an employee. However, it is often opined that the aim of an office-going person is solely concentrating on his job instead of building interlinks. I completely disagree with this notion and in the following paragraphs, I would shed light on numerous reasons to support my stance. To commence with the first reason for agreement, good connections are important for mental health during the job. According to research, people who are more social at their workplace are less likely to face stress and psychological pressure. They are the ones who smartly handle critical situations and come up with unique solutions. These folks can maintain a balance between their professional and personal life for example they always get time to hang out with friends or do outings with family. Secondly, we should not lose sight of the fact that strong interpersonal links provide opportunities and growth in the career. A person who often talks with other individuals must be able to improve his intrapersonal characteristics as well, for instance, communication skills, eye contact, gestures and body language and these are the qualities along with technical skills which giant companies nowadays look for in a competent candidate. Also, well-established connections with colleagues assist folks to get favour in other matters as well. Let's suppose individuals usually get loans from the banks using their personal references with someone they know professionally. On the contrary, indulging more to make links with humans is harmful to their work. They always get distracted from their daily routine tasks, show less interest in their own task and easily get tired early. They are not used to hard work. As a result, their overall performance declines and eventually they do not achieve their goals and targets and hence, receive poor rewards like annual appraisals and promotions. In conclusion, it is generally argued that workers should not maintain good personal relationships instead they just indulge in their assigned job descriptions. I am personally not in the favour of this perspective because close bonding with people is not only good for their mental peace but also for exploring new career opportunities.