Government are spending too much money on a space research while there are still lots of problems on earth to what extent you agree or disagree ??

Nowdays countries are competing with each other on space research where countries are spending billions of dollars on satellites to extra terrestrial exploration. I wholeheartedly agree with the above statement that on earth human is facing critical problems then space exploration, and I will elaborate further in the next paragraphs. To start with, government and private organisations spending billions $ on space research programs,including exploring other planets,to show technical superority over other countries, however neglecting local or global issues.If a portion of a taxpayer money spent on local/global problems,those issues can be resolved easily than anticipated time period.Some global issues are water pollution,global warming and depleting sweet water resources. In India, the biggest challenge is drinking water,though the country is surrounded by water from three sides.If the government spends quarter portion of the funds allocated to a space research program, this problem could be resolved easily by research and developing clean technology of converting salty water to a sweet water. Furthermore, world is facing serious challenges on carbon emission impacting weather and environment.Nowadays, main source of energy is coming through fossil fuels.If the whole world closely work on this challenge, and spend half of the world budget allocated to extra-terrestrial exploration in finding alternative green energy, than this problem could be resolved easily.New horizons can be opened in finding alternative of gas guzzling machines to efficient green source of energy for private and public transportation. For example, green hydrogen could be alternative of fossil fuels,but current challenges is extracting hydrogen molecule from H2O. Government can spend more on researching,exploring and developing green technology to extract it. To conclude, in my opinion, government should create vision document around local/ global challenges, and redirect allocated funds from space research to resolve local/global issues.