Some experts believe it is better to learn a foreign language in primary school rather than in secondary school. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Children have the fastest brain development than any other age group allowing them to learn rapidly. While some believe studying a second language is best done in primary school, others argue it should be taught during their adolescent years. In this essay, I will discuss why there are more advantages to studying another language during primary school rather than secondary school. Firstly, learning a different language in primary school improves the development of their cognitive function and helps them learn the new language faster than older children. For example, young children from mixed backgrounds learn and pick up two native languages quickly and perform well in other aspects of education. In addition, the second language learned will help expose children to various cultures at an earlier age. This teaches them to be more adaptable. When the children are older, they have a fixed mindset, so it may be more difficult to accept differences as quickly as when they were young. Furthermore, the secondary school might not be interested in foreign languages because the students prefer to focus more on exam subjects. There may also be a few disadvantages to this. For one, there may be a tendency to mix the two languages in daily communication. Secondly, if neither parents speak or know the new language, the child may be unable to practise it effectively and won't enjoy it. However, these are minimal issues which can be rectified with proper guidance and additional coaching. In conclusion, acquiring new skills in other languages at a younger age would help children develop more holistically. Wouldn’t we want our children to be proficient in different languages to boost their creativity?