Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is believed that universities must accept a balanced enrollment of males and females in every subject. From my perspective, gender should not play a significant role in passing to college and all students must be evaluated considering only their capability. First of all, all the universities make entrance exams in order to accept estimate the level of applicant students. Indeed, all tests or exams are the same for all males as well as females. Thus, their admission to college is totally dependent on their scores in exams rather than their gender. For instance, if more representatives of males got good grades, then more males will be enrolled. In my opinion, this will be a more honest and correct way of selecting students. On the other hand, it is believed that women had witnessed discrimination in society. Therefore, many representatives of the female class suppose that women should not feel pressured during university admission. The idea of accepting equal numbers of males and females is to promote gender equality which has been a serious problem for many years. However, it is worth mentioning the fact that the capability and interests of gender vary regarding the subject. For instance, the number of male students in IT courses is notably higher, at the same time more female students could be seen in courses of medicine or pedagogy.Incidentally, despite these facts that it is a good opportunity to show and prove their merit and capability for both males and females. All in all, I suppose that students must be enrolled on colleges regarding their academic performance during entrance exams,not their gender.