Writing, reading, maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skills should be the fourth largest branch. Agree or disagree?

It is true that our lives revolve around technology. Therefore, some people believe that computer skills should be a large branch as writing, reading and mathematics. I completely agree with this and in this essay I will state the reasons with relevant examples. To begin with, reading, writing and mathematics are fundamentals for a successful life and career. While those are important, developing computer skills is also vital to survive in modern society as our lives revolve around it. For instance, with the global pandemic almost every company started working from home, and so was schools. If either the employees or the students did not have at least basic computer skills it would have been difficult for them to work and study. Thus developing technological skills is vital from a young age. Moreover, using technology wisely will help us to stay safe. To elaborate on this matter further, there are certain applications and software that enable to track children's location. These applications can be taken to good use only if we have computer skills. Secondly, having computer skills is vital to secure a job in the future as every job will be computer -based. If the children's computer literacy is not sharpened from a young age it will be difficult for them to compete in the cooperative world. To exemplify, even accountants should learn to use tech devices as there will be no handwritten documents in the future and all the details will be managed by a computer. Furthermore, computer literacy is vital for the students to land on the high paid jobs. Based on a research done by the University of California people working in the technology industry get paid more than accountants and most of the other professionals. In conclusion, I believe that learning and developing computer skills should be as important as reading, writing and mathematics because it gives the foundation to be successful in the future.