Governments in many countries are replacing old buildings such as art galleries and town halls with new ones. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary epoch, numerous authorities tend to replace historical structures such as art galleries and town halls with modern ones. Personally, I strongly believe this approach is a negative development as, firstly, these buildings are a part of human history and should be preserved as a heritage for the younger generation and, secondly, it may have a negative impact on the state´s exchequer. It cannot be denied that historical buildings are part of the cultural legacy as they depict human history through their architecture. Replacing them with the new ones would be, undoubtedly, an imprudent approach as they take part in the education process as well. Linked to this, for instance, a vast number of school trips are usually made with the purpose to show children historical buildings, which might help them to imagine how their ancestors lived. To elaborate the importance of old structures further, the architecture students spend hours studying historical buildings in person, as it offers a noteworthy opportunity to understand the details of each architectural style in a better way. Moreover, it is irrefutable proof that historical attractions are an inevitable part of financial resources for the state´s exchequer, as they tempt numerous tourists each year. Additionally, tourists enhance the economy of a particular country in numerous other ways, such as usually paying for the accommodation, food and transport. Therefore, it should be one of the politicians’ paramount aims to preserve and revamp the historical buildings. To conclude, from the aforementioned examples, removing old structures has more drawbacks, as they are a heritage for future generations and are a reliable source of the country´s income.