It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Telling children to distinguish right and wrong at an early age plays a vital role. While some believe punishment is absolutely needed, some don’t. I’ll share all my opinion in the following. Firstly, teaching children right and wrong earlier is well-accepted because it would be dangerous if children keep doing the wrong things with innocent and fun. For example, children like to put their fingers in any place. But putting in a working fan would come out with the serious results. To enhance the memories of not doing wrong things again, many people would choose to punish children. In my opinion, I don’t totally agree with the statement. I believe punishment may help because it’s scary, but there is always another way to teach them. When I was young, I remembered I like to play matches by myself. The light and fire are so magical. Once my parents found out, mom yelled at me and was going to punish me. However, dad just brought me to the living room and showed me a video with people who playing fire but come out injured due to the fire. Dad discussed it with me and asked how I feel about the video. I still remembered I cried at the end and told my dad I will be more careful with fire and won’t play it by myself. In conclusion, I would like to try the way my dad treated me to every child. A real physical punishment may work but children may not really realise they are doing something wrong. If we could try to teach them right and wrong by discussing and sharing thoughts, they would keep them in their mind for a longer time.