Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Many countries around the world enjoy and encourage tourism and travelling visitors. In this essay, I will explore the advantages and disadvantages that tourism can bring to a country. Quite clearly, one of the biggest benefits of global and local tourism is the huge boost to economies that this can bring. Many people know that when they travel they will quite often spend a lot of money - sometimes in local shops or businesses. For example, as people visit new locations, they will purchase goods and souvenirs of this place, as well as use local facilities such as transport or restaurants. Furthermore, a great advantage of people visiting countries or cities they have never been to can be that they develop their understanding of a new place and foreign culture. This led to a better knowledge of how people around the world live their lifestyles. For instance, by knowing different languages, we can all come to respect each other much more. On the other hand, one of the biggest disadvantages of tourism can be reliance on this as a source of income. If an area relies heavily on tourists spending money there, but tourists do stop visiting, then this can be devastating for the local economy. Covid-19 has meant that global tourism has crashed, leaving many countries that need tourists for income in a dire financial situation. As well as this, globetrotting can also mean a huge increase in environmental pollution and problems. Many people need to travel by air and as we know planes are a huge contributor to carbon emissions which lead to global warming. In addition to this, as tourists travel to a location, they may cause pollution through littering or not caring for the local environment as the local population might. In conclusion, we can clearly see that there are many advantages and disadvantages when considering the effects of tourism.