Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers and explain from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, a growing number of people have decided to travel by train. Such a practice has aroused the attention of the public and people have mixed views on this issue. Some believe the developed train system enables residents to travel at low costs whereas others argue that building of railway system requires a tremendous amount of money. Personally, I prefer the train system to highways for the following reasons. First of all, people can transport goods and products via the railway system in a timely manner. The designated routes for trains make sure there is no obstacle to obstruct them when it is operating. In addition, trains can carry more products than many other transport means, such as trucks, mini-van, etc. As indicated by the study of Nanjing University, trains provide immense flexibility for goods transporting as they can travel 2 times faster than private cars without compromising their safety. As a consequence, many businesses are much more rely on the railway than on roads. Aside from that, the railway system is also an important transport connecting the regional areas and metropolitans. The accessibility of trains enables people living in different areas to travel at ease. The survey conducted by Havard University reveals that the development of the railway system facilitate the cultural exchanges within and beyong a nation. The population flow that is brought by the railway system not only increase regional communication, but also the local economic growth. Finally, there is strong bonds between regions been built up.