In some parts of the world, people have become more focused on themselves than their communities. What problems can this situation cause and how can they be solved?

Transportation has evolved in the last fifty years, from bullock carts to bicycles to cars and buses. During this period, usage of bicycles is minimised despite the health benefits.In this essay, I will look firstly at the reasons and then highlight how to encourage bicycle usage with appropriate examples. To start with, in most countries urban roads remain the same and it is almost congested with private and public vehicles, therefore no space for bicycle riders, also putting cyclist at risk.Recently road and safety NGO released statistics on accidents highlighting cyclist is the most vulnerable to hit and run cases.The other reason,per-capita income has increased,influencing laymen for choosing two or four- wheelers instead of a bicycle. Nowadays, having two or four-wheelers is acting as a status symbol,neglecting health benefits by using bicycles. To increase the usage of bicycle, first,a separate cycle lane need to create which is well connected with the city centres and other important places with the shortest route, away from the main roads. This will give immense security to cyclists. Second,a government initiative is needed where buyers can purchase bicycles on the subsidised rate along with the tax relief. Third, health policies should be interlinked with the usage of pedal bikes. For example, leading insurance organisation comes with the incentive plans, wherein users can get loyalty points for every kilometre ride by the bicycle but pedal bikes should have a GPS tracker.Fourth, the government should increase taxes on buying the motorcycles or cars. For example, in Denmark, heavy taxes on the vehicles which discourage buyers, as a result the preferred mode of commuting through pedal bikes, the highest in the world. In conclusion, stating the reasons followed by the ways to increase the bicycle usage, people have to understand the benefits and the consequences of a sedentary lifestyle.