In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is being observed that in several societies, it is said to offspring they can earn whatever they want if they strive pretty hard. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this saying. There are some advantages to this opinion. One could be creating motivation. When an individual thinks he can attain his goals, a powerful incentive is created in his mind, and he probably tries more. For example, when a toddler tries to walk, he falls many times. But his parents cheer him up and assure him he can eventually walk. It is possible that If the child doesn't get enough encouragement, he may become disappointed after a few falls and never be able to walk. Another advantage could be understanding the importance of effort in reaching success. It is a proven fact that achieving goals without making enough effort is impossible. For example, if a student doesn't do his assignments, attend classes, and study enough, he can not pass the exams and will never be graduated. Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages to this issue. One could be the possibility of neglecting the existing limitations. In real life, there are some obstacles which can not be solved, or solving them may be followed by an enormous cost. For example, kids in families with financial problems can not have the welfare existing in wealthy families. If these children think they can earn everything they want with much effort, they will put pressure on themselves or their families to try more to have a better situation. But life is not as easy as they think. Another disadvantage could be getting depressed or disappointed after a while. It is clear that no one can gain everything he wants. For example, if a child has a genetic disease, no matter how much he tries, if the cure for his illness has not been discovered yet, he can not be healed. In conclusion, to reiterate, although giving the idea of the possibility of reaching the goals with enough effort has some benefits which are encouraging to attempt and finding out the significance of it, it could also have the discussed drawbacks, which are forgetting the constraints and getting unhappy. If parents want to do so, they should consider its pros and cons.