Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Some people argue whether or not being monitored is an art of safety or simply an invasion of privacy. I personally believe that the more innovating devices there is, the more the world will lose it’s natural beauty including people’s limitations to their own will. The first objection is that we are completely being watched by the authorities. For some it could be a chance for reducing criminalism and a simple form of state control, whereas for me it is a basic manipulation. For instance, social medias are the most controlling sources, yet everyone uses them daily. Platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter and even more are constantly listening to users’ conversations consequently showing them their interests and gaining data on people’s opinions, behaviour and choices. In addition the follow and save all of the searched information online, as this way they could find out their characters, even using that knowledge as curtail of personal privacy. Another example are all of the CCTV cameras placed in private rooms such as changing rooms and toilets. Imagine a customer of a shop getting undressed, meanwhile someone’s watching them at the other end of the screen. Noone knows what kind of morale people have that are holding all of the power of these devices. To conclude, even if there are advantages of using monitors on daily basis, such as making cities safer for inhibitants, on the other hand many citizens might suffer in the future to all that proliferation of “safety devices”. The consequences might be crusial, thus we have no idea who controls our lives, and my personal view is that maybe we should slow down the development of newer technology that does not serve us correctly.